Oyo Assembly Calls For Creation Of More Constituencies In Oyo State


By Odeh Henry





The Oyo state House of Assembly has called on the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to create more constituencies in Oyo state in line with the provisions of the 1999 constitution as amended.


The House made the call during its plenary while deliberating on a motion jointly sponsored by seven lawmakers calling for the upward review of state constituencies.


The motion read by one of the sponsors, Hon Kazeem Isiaka (Oyo East /Oyo West) noted that the division of Oyo state into thirty-two state constituencies across thirty-three local Govts was based on the 1991 population statistics.


According to the House, with the increase in the population figure of Oyo state since 1991, there is the urgent need for INEC to create more constituencies in the state.


It was also resolved that the executive arm of government should forward a memo to the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC on the need for more constituencies so that some local governments currently joined as one constituency can be separated.


The lawmakers equally urged Oyo state federal lawmakers at both chambers of the National Assembly to also champion the call for the upward review of state constituencies as the present constituency delineation in the state is unjustifiable and unacceptable.


The House has also called on the Federal Ministry of Works to erect overhead pedestrian bridges and overhead lights along Lagos/Ibadan Expressway to ensure the safety of residents.


While deliberating on the motion brought by Hon Francis Adetunji (Oluyole), the House called on members representing the areas in the National Assembly to consider erecting solar lamps at Soka,Academy, Muslim,Olorunsogo, and Oremeji junctions along Lagos-Ibadan Express road.


The Speaker,Hon Ogundoyin at the plenary announced the composition of Oyo state Universal Basic Education Board ,SUBEB


While reading a message from the Governor, Hon Ogundoyin announced Dr Nureni Adeniran as the Chairman of the board, Mr Akeem Oladeji and Mr Dayo Ogungbenro as full time members of the board and directed the appointees to submit their credentials to the House as soon as possible.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.