New Commissioners List Ready, May Be Forwarded To Oyo Assembly Next Week – Source


By Henry Odeh


Following speculations in different quarters about the composition of new cabinet by the Governor of Oyo state, Engr Seyi Makinde, a source inside government has told that the new Commissioners List is ready and may be transmitted to the state House of Assembly for onward legislative screening and approval by the coming week.

The source noted that a number of former Commissioners made the list and may be returned to office by the Governor after their screening.

“The List is ready and maybe sent to the House for their screening and approval by next week.

“Some former Commissioners who performed very well and have earned the governor’s confidence made the list but that’s all about it.

“Some of the returning Commissioners may most likely be returned to their former offices, I am not sure but it is most likely,” the source said.

Sunrisebulletin learned that the governor has been very discrete about the names of his yet to be constituted new cabinet.

Since the dissolution of the state cabinet by Governor Makinde after the last State Executive Council meeting late June, speculations have continued to mount regarding the recomposition of a new cabinet for the smooth running of government.

According to the source, some of the ‘most likely’ returning Commissioners include Akinola Ojo (Finance), Bashir Bello (Health), Seun Ashamu (Energy and Natural Resources).

Other most likely returnees according to the source are Barrister Olasunkanmi Olaleye (Education, Science and Technology), and Ojemuyiwa Ojekunle (Agric).

The source however, added that the Governor is very keen on consolidating on the success of his administration so far by returning some of the Commissioners to their former designations.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.