12 Lawmakers in Sokoto Pledges loyalty to Buhari, As Tambuwal defects to PDP


As Sokoto Governor Aminu Tambuwal defects to the Peoples Democratic Party PDP, some state assembly members in the Sokoto legislative house numbering about Twelve of the 30-member Assembly have declared their loyalty to the All Progressives Congress and President Muhammadu Buhari.

The lawmakers stated this in a statement sent to PREMIUM TIMES Wednesday afternoon.

“We reiterate our commitment and loyalty to the APC led government under President Muhammadu Buhari,” they said in the statement.

Their announcement follows the decision of the Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal, to defect to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from the APC.

While announcing his defection on Wednesday, Mr Tambuwal accused the Muhammadu Buhari administration of incompetence and failure to deliver on campaign promises.

The decision of the 12 lawmakers indicates Mr Tambuwal, who is believed to be eyeing the PDP presidential ticket, still enjoys the support of a majority 18 lawmakers of the Sokoto assembly.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.