Oyo ADC: 13 Oyo lawmakers pledge Support for Ladoja, Koleoso.


members of the Oyo State House of Assembly from three different parties have pledged their allegiance to the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and its collegiate leadership under a former governor of the state, Senator Rashidi Ladoja, Chief Michael Koleoso, Chief Layiwola Olakojo and Dr Adebisi Busari.

The lawmakers, who constituencies spread across local government areas in Ibadan city, Ibadan less city, Oyo and Oke-Ogun zone, said their decision was informed by “overwhelming acceptance of ADC within a short period of time and the integrity of its leaders in the state.”

The legislators, who were elected into the House of Assembly in 2015 from Accord, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Labour Party (LP), said they were not in doubt that “ADC is a government-in-waiting,” judging by what they called ADC’s “phenomenal spread” in the state.

Led by a former Labour Party state secretary, Honourable Gbenga Oyekola (Atiba State Constituency) and the Deputy Speaker, Honourable Abdulwasi Musa (Saki West State Constituency), the list of the G-13 lawmakers also include Honourable Ademola Akeem Ige (Ibadan South-East II); Honourable Adesina Fatai (Ibadan South East I); Honourable Olusegun Olaleye (Ibadan North State Constituency II); Honourable Lukman Balogun (Oorelope State Constituency).

Others are Honourable Ganiyu Oseni (Irepo/Olorunsogo State Constituency); Honourable Afeez Adeleke (Iseyin/Itesiwaju State Constituency); Honourable Muyideen Olagunju (Oyo East/Oyo West State Constituency); Honourable Waheed Adeniyi Adeoye (Ibadan North-East II State Constituency); Honourable Bolaji Badmus (Akinyele State Constituency II); Honourable Biliaminu Azeez (Ona-Ara State Constituency); Honourable Lasun Oguntade (Egbeda State Constituency II).

Speaking with the Nigerian Tribune after the group’s meeting with Chief Koleoso in Ibadan on Wednesday, Honourable Oyekola said the group was concerned about how the things had been in the state in almost eight years and became convinced that the state deserved a people-oriented government in 2019.

“We don’t deserve the same of same in 2019 in Oyo State and we are resolute about this. We have pledged our loyalty to Senator Ladoja, Chief Koleoso, Dr Adebisi and Chief Olakojo. We are for ADC and will work for the success of the party in the 2o19 elections.

“We were 16 before now. Two have gone to PDP. Honourable Peter Oyetunji has gone to meet his leader in PDP, Senator Ayo Adeseun. Honourable Debo Ogundoyin said his people back home said he should stay in PDP for now. Honourable Kehinde Oloya says he wants to contest for the House of Representatives seat in Accord.

“But the 13 others, including myself, are resolute about ADC and we have started massively mobilisation for ADC in our constituencies and across the state. We have started meeting with is the leaders of ADC. We met with Chief Koleoso and Chief Olakojo today (yesterday). We will meet with Senator Ladoja when he returns to Ibadan and also meet Dr Adebisi Busari.

“When we say we are 13, that is our membership for now. Others who share in the vision that the people of the state deserve better deal are talking to us. We are convinced that ADC is the party that others are struggling to beat in the state.

“This party came within a short period of time and is already a household name everywhere you go in the state. We will not be left out. We are a solid part of this mass movement or if you like the 2019 revolution that ADC will engender in the state,” he said.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.